Re-lactation???

So I have still been leaking breast milk from my breasts since I have stopped bfing. Today I felt like maybe this was a sign.. maybe I am suppose to bfing/pumping milk?!? Next question…is it possible. I only gave monkey milk for 5 days and stopped. I have been reading on la leche and other websites that it’s very possible to relactate and moms that try to do it before baby is 4 months have better success. I still don’t think monkey will latch on to my boob but I feel like maybe I can get my milk back and pump??! Does anyone have any ideas/tips on this subject? I started to pump again only getting about 5 cc, but I know the more pumping I do, the more milk that can build up? The websites I read also said to put baby on breast as often as possible…which isn’t possible for me b/c he won’t latch. Which makes me think.. I could use the nipple shield to get him on the breast, but if you look back in my previous post about bfing… I think that’s what causes the problems in the first place. ( with the sore.cracked.bleeding).  I feel like also, I’m in a better place to be patient with the whole process. I feel like earlier I was SOOOO hormonal and havin a new born baby, I just wasn’t in the right mind set and got frustrated so easily. Leave me so feedback in this subject ladies! I will try to keep posted on if it will work…! Fingers crossed.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Re-lactation???

  1. lesboparentstobe

    Obviously I don’t have direct experience with this, but it definitely seems worth a shot if you’re up for it (both trying to BF again or pump). It doesn’t seem like you have much to lose by trying, and if you’re in a better place emotionally do deal with the potential stress, try it!

  2. I didn’t know you felt like the shield was what caused the soreness. I only used one a couple of times, but I felt like it really helped when Evyn couldn’t latch well. If you’re still leaking then yeah, I’d give the pumping a try. Do you still get the let down feeling when he cries?? I’ve never heard of this whole starting up breast feeding when your baby is already a month and a half old. But if it works out, then more power to ya!

  3. isa

    Well, it can’t hurt to try, right? And if you’re still making some milk it seems like there’s no reason why you couldn’t go ahead and make more–I know that it’s easier for women who have breast-fed earlier babies to induce lactation with later ones, even if they didn’t carry them, so I imagine you’ll be able to start up again. Good luck!

  4. My son absolutely refused to latch until he was 6 weeks old. Then one day he suddenly got it. He was slow to start, but by 12 weeks he was a total boobaholic. I’d say give it a try with the pump, and the boy. You have nothing to lose!

  5. I say go for it. I didn’t post much about it but I had a really hard BF start. While in the hospital I didn’t really start pumping because no one told me to and I didn’t know better. Everyone just assumed I would be supplementing because there were two babies. Things got delayed again with the shield but are now on track. The nipple shield was what delayed and almost got me to forget about bfeeding but it does work for many people. I would say give pumping a try. If you’re making some milk pumping would only seem to increase and encourage that. I started pupming about 12-13 times daily to encourage my supply to increase. A pain but it really did work. You could also start taking something like fenugreek, I started taking it around 1.5 weeks ago and it’s doubled my supply. I take a really high dose but it’s a fairly cheap supplement and it is at most drugstores. Good luck dear!

  6. I’m still waiting for the password 🙂 Would love to see pictures of the monkey!
    Plus yet it is totally possible to re-lactate, but it is very hard and you may need to take domperidone to get it really going.

  7. http://www.makingmoremilk.com/

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Lactation Cookies: Increasing Milk Supply
    http://www.drmomma.org/2010/08/lactation-cookies-recipe-increasing.html

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Lactation Cookies
    Ingredients :

    * 1 cup butter or marg
    * 1 cup brown sugar
    * 1/2 cup white sugar
    * 4 tablespoons water
    * 2 tablespoons flaxseed meal*
    * 2 large eggs
    * 1 teaspoon vanilla
    * 2 cups flour (if using whole wheat cut down to 1 1/2 cups)
    * 1 teaspoon baking soda
    * 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
    * 1 teaspoon salt
    * 3 cups oats, thick cut if you can get them
    * 1 cup or more chocolate chips
    * 2 tablespoons of brewers yeast* (be generous)
    Directions:
    Preheat oven at 375 degrees F. Mix together 2 tablespoons of flaxseed meal and water, set aside for 3-5 minutes. Cream (beat well) butter or margarine and sugar. Add eggs one at a time, mix well. Stir flaxseed mixture and add with vanilla to the margarine mix. Beat until blended. Whisk together dry ingredients, except oats and chips. Add to butter/margarine mixture. Stir in oats then chips. Scoop or drop onto baking sheet, preferably lined with parchment or silpat. The dough is a little crumbly, so it helps to use a scoop.

    Bake 8-12 minutes, depending on size of cookies.

    Serves: 6 dozen cookies
    Preparation time: 15 minutes

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Milk Treats: A tasty way to boost your supply!
    http://iinformedparenting.blogspot.com/2010/11/milk-treats-tasty-way-to-boost-your.html

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Relactation or induced lactation
    http://www.kellymom.com/bf/supply/relactation.html

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    La Leche League on Relactation
    http://www.llli.org/faq/relactation.html

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Lactation Aid (Supplemental Nursing System) by Jack Newman, MD, FRCPC
    http://www.pregnancy.org/article/lactation-aid-supplemental-nursing-system

  8. So glad you switched to wordpress…i have not been able to leave a comment for months! I emailed you at the email address we used when sending the follistem but that no longer worked. facebook me if you can or email me with password so i can see that sweet boy! Not sure how this is listing me, but we are the Growing up Clangley girls…my email is alangley at triad.rr.com

Leave a Reply

